Lewis Caroll’s whimsical novel Alice in Wonderland has been around for nearly 160 years, and in the decades since, it’s spurned spinoffs like Disney’s animated movie version from 1951 and the live-action versions from the 2010s starring Johnny Depp. Long story short: The world clearly still loves Alice in Wonderland, even after all these years. Of course, there’s a lot to love—the madness, the vibrancy, the idiosyncrasy. Alice in Wonderland is full of wacky (yet wise) characters in every scene and they all have something curious to say. So, why not celebrate all the curious and wacky, mad and wise Alice in Wonderland quotes the story has given us over the years? Keep reading for the 50 best Alice in Wonderland quotes.

Alice in Wonderland Quotes

Alice Quotes

  1. “But that’s just the trouble with me. I give myself very good advice, but I very seldom follow it.”
  2. “I wonder which way I ought to go.”
  3. “Oh, dear. I do wish I hadn’t cried so much.”
  4. “It would be so nice if something made sense for a change.”
  5. “Curiouser and curiouser!”
  6. “Well, I’ve had enough nonsense. I’m going home!”
  7. “If I had a world of my own, everything would be nonsense.”
  8. “When I get home I shall write a book about this place.”
  9. “Three inches is such a wretched height.”
  10. “I’m afraid I can’t explain myself, sir. Because I’m not myself, you know.”
  11. “But how can one possibly pay attention to a book with no pictures in it?”
  12. “Nothing would be what it is because everything would be what it isn’t. And contrariwise, what it is, it wouldn’t be, and what it wouldn’t be, it would. You see?”
  13. “For if one drinks much from a bottle marked ‘poison,’ it’s almost certain to disagree with one sooner or later.”
  14. “Well, I can’t put it any more clearly, sir, for it isn’t clear to me.”

Mad Hatter Quotes

  1. “You must have a cup of tea!”
  2. “I shall elucidate.”
  3. “Twinkle twinkle little bat. How I wonder what you’re at. Up and above the world you fly, like a tea tray in the sky.”
  4. “You can always take more than nothing.’'
  5. “Why is a raven like a writing desk?”

March Hare Quotes

20. “If you don’t think, you shouldn’t talk!” 21. “I have an excellent idea! Let’s change the subject.” 22. “A very merry unbirthday to you!” 23. “Ah, but it’s very rude to sit down without being invited.” 24. “She doesn’t know what an unbirthday is!” 25. “Careful, she’s stark raving mad.”

Queen of Hearts Quotes

26. “Curtsey while you’re thinking. It saves time.” 27. “That’s enough! Off with their heads!” 28. “Who’s been painting my roses red?” 29. “Someone’s head will roll for this!”

Cheshire Cat Quotes

  1. “Most everyone’s mad here.”
  2. “You may have noticed that I’m not all there myself.”
  3. “Lose something?”
  4. “That depends where you want to get to.”
  5. “Can you stand on your head?”

Lewis Caroll Quotes

  1. “When I was your age, I always did it for half-an-hour a day. Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”
  2. “Well! I’ve often seen a cat without a grin, but a grin without a cat! It’s the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!”
  3. “Everything’s got a moral, if only you can find it.”
  4. “I suppose I ought to eat or drink something or other; but the great question is, ‘What?’”
  5. “It’s no use going back to yesterday, because I was a different person then.”
  6. “It takes all the running you can do, to keep in the same place. If you want to get somewhere else, you must run at least twice as fast as that!”
  7. “Oh, I’ve had such a curious dream!”

White Rabbit Quotes

  1. “I’m late, I’m late! For a very important date! No time to say ‘hello, goodbye,’ I’m late, I’m late, I’m late!”
  2. “Oh, my fur and whiskers! I’m late, I’m late, I’m late!”

Caterpillar Quotes

  1. “Who. Are. You?”
  2. “The mushroom, of course!”

The Doorknob Quotes

  1. “Nothing’s impossible!”
  2. “Come, come now. Crying won’t help.”
  3. “Sorry, you’re much too big. Simply impassable.”

Tweedle-Dee and Tweedle-Dum Quotes

  1. “That’s logic!”

Walrus Quotes

  1. “The time has come, to talk of other things–of shoes and ships and sealing wax, and cabbages and kings. And why the sea is boiling hot, and whether pigs have wings. Calloo, Callay, no work today, we’re the cabbages and kings.” Want more great quotes? 100 Wedding and Marriage Quotes50 Thinking of You Quotes50 Friday Quotes50 Monday Motivation Quotes

50 Best  Alice in Wonderland  Quotes - 8450 Best  Alice in Wonderland  Quotes - 3250 Best  Alice in Wonderland  Quotes - 3450 Best  Alice in Wonderland  Quotes - 9050 Best  Alice in Wonderland  Quotes - 9150 Best  Alice in Wonderland  Quotes - 88