The supermodel, 74, has rocked runways and starred in spreads more since turning 60 than she did in her teens and 20s, the typical prime of a fashion model’s career. “At 20, I was surprised I was still modeling because when I was 15, I was told, ‘At 18, you’re done.’ So I went to school to become a dietitian and got my bachelor of science degree,” Musk previously recalled to Parade. “But then, I actually won a beauty competition and was crowned Miss South Africa. That got me a contract in Johannesburg and bigger jobs. And then I got married and had three kids in three years. I did a little pregnancy modeling at the time, but mostly I was brain dead with three babies!” She continued, “Then it turns out they wanted me for ‘mother of the bride’ because I was the oldest model. No one over 18 was modeling. So I went back to part-time modeling. And then they wanted me at 31 again for runway shows. So I was surprised about that,” she continued. “I had my dietitian practice at home so I would get someone to look after the kids when I was modeling or else they’d be in the front row at my runway shows. And this just carried on: As I got older, they wanted an older model.” Musk said that her 70s so far have been the peak of her modeling career—and she has zero plans on stopping anytime soon. “I don’t even think about age, but I notice everybody thinks about my age! My mom never worried about her age and at 96, she retired,” Musk said. “So I might retire at 96.” Get to know the Sports Illustrated Swimsuit stunner Maye Musk!

Maye Musk is Elon Musk’s mother.

Is Maye Musk married now?

Maye Musk was married to Errol Musk from 1970 to 1979. She told Harper’s Bazaar that Errol was abusive both physically and emotionally during their relationship. “Everybody I knew called him ‘the Pig’ because he treated me so badly in public. And I was too scared to tell anyone [about the deeper violence]. Like every abused woman, I was embarrassed, and I knew I had made a mistake, you know?” she said. “He told me over and over that I was stupid, ugly, boring. He was very rich, but he made sure I had nothing. Once the kids were living with me, they visited their father some weekends. He would throw out everything they arrived with, so I had to buy them all new clothes and school things. Then he’d sue me and say that I was unfit to parent. He saw a blister on Tosca’s mouth and said I was malnourishing her. He saw a bruise on Kimbal’s arm—imagine, an active little boy with a bruise!—and said I was beating him.” As for whether she’ll ever tie the knot again, that’s a firm no. “Oh, I’ll never get married again! What am I going to do, take him along to my fashion shoots and make him bean soup? Come on! I love living alone in an empty house," she said. “I get to work out at night. I get to come and go as I please. I get to walk around naked. I think people can be happy in relationships. I’ve seen it with my twin sister and my parents. Romance is great. But I will never take care of a man again. I want my own space.”

How did Maye Musk make her money?

Musk studied nutrition and became a dietician to support herself. She also modeled on the side. She is also a published author of A Woman Makes a Plan: Advice for a Lifetime of Adventure, Beauty, and Successand Feel Fantastic: Maye Musk’s Good Health Clinic.

What does Maye Musk do for a living?

Musk focuses her time predominantly on modeling, and business has been booming for her. When she was 69 years old, Musk became CoverGirl’s oldest spokesmodel. She has also appeared in campaigns for Target, Revlon, Special K cereal and even in Beyoncé’s music video for “Haunted.”

What does Maye Musk eat?

Musk previously told Parade that she gives herself flexibility with her diet, but generally tries to eat healthfully as much as she can. “I have two master’s of science degrees in the nutrition field so I always follow science. What does science say? The top four diets for good health? The Mediterranean diet, the DASH Diet, flexitarian, and WW, which is Weight Watchers,” she said. “So between those four, I follow the flexitarian, which means I prioritize vegetables. I’m vegetarian at home and then when I go out, I will have meat, fish or chicken. I’m mostly a bad cook, so it’s better that way. I make great bean soup. That’s what I’m good at. But then when I do go out and I order fish or meat, I will take a third of that home and then have it the next day with all my vegetables.”

How did Maye Musk lose weight?

Musk was at one point close to 200 pounds and worked as one of South Africa’s only plus-sized models. To lose weight, she implemented the nutrition and diet tips she taught her clients, putting a heavy emphasis on vegetables. She also times her meals carefully. “I’ve learned that when I start feeling full, I have to stop eating,” she told Parade. “I’ll often say to people, ‘I’m just going to have the soup, but if you can give me a taste of your food’ or I’ll have a salad and I’ll taste everybody’s food. If they don’t know me, they’re very polite and they allow me to do it. If it’s my children, they say, ‘No mom! Order your own food. Don’t take our food.’ I’m not going to change. This is the way it’s always been and that’s how it is!” She also believes in not eating too late, explaining, “When I have the chance, I will fast from 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. So I pretty much just stop after dinner. That’s when I’m alone. But when I’m traveling and they want to take me out to dinner, I always gain a couple of pounds because first of all, food’s delicious! So when I do that, I try to eat well the next day. And I often just put food in my fridge in the hotels so that I’ve got food for myself.”

Where does Maye Musk live?

Musk was born in  Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada. She spent a good deal of her childhood and much of her adult life in South Africa. She currently lives in Los Angeles. Next, see the most iconic Sports Illustrated Swimsuit cover models then and now! See more from the complete edition of the 2022 Sports Illustrated here.

Maye Musk On the Cover of Sports Illustrated Swimsuit 2022  All About Elon Musk s Mother - 50