Sims recently launched an exclusive collaboration with Meiomi wines and entertaining essentials brand Social Studies, so she caught up with PARADE to chat all things entertaining, wine pairings, setting a table and getting your kids to actually get involved. Check out her brilliant advice below, before you host your own soirée this New Year’s Eve.

What do you love most about hosting parties and entertaining?

For me, this time of year is all about bringing people together. That’s probably why I love to host so much because it means spending time with friends and family. What I don’t love is the stress of it all! My biggest tips for anyone hosting is don’t overthink it. If you have good food, good wine, and good people, you are set. My hack this year was using the Meiomi x Social Studies Entertaining Set, which has everything you need to set a beautiful table—including Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and Cabernet Sauvignon. It saved me so much time, but also gave me the perfect chic touch I needed to make my house beautiful for my guests.

What will you be serving for New Year’s Eve this year?

There will most definitely be a charcuterie board involved. Not only is it delicious with cheese, nuts, breads, fruits, but it looks beautiful. It’s always crowd-pleaser… I mean, you just can’t go wrong with a cheeseboard. I always make my signature turkey meatballs, which my kids absolutely love. And the bar will be stocked— obviously. I’ll probably be drinking a Pinot Noir, but I always make sure to have a variety of drinks for everyone to enjoy.

How do you get the kids involved getting ready for a party?

Kids can be a huge help in getting ready for a party. Who doesn’t need a few little helpers in the kitchen, am I right?! If you make it feel like a fun activity, and not a chore, they’ll have fun doing it. We like to put on music in the house, sing and dance along while preparing. It’s a great way to spend time together and get stuff done all at once. If they’re not too picky, make them the designated taste tester. It makes them feel like they have an important job, and also gives you a honest critic (maybe a little too honest at times).

Any unique table setting ideas?

Again, this year I am going all in on my Meiomi x Social Studies entertaining set. You don’t need to reinvent the wheel to have a beautiful table setting. If you don’t have a curated set, my advice would be to take inspiration from Instagram or someone you know. You do not have to be a professional to make a nice setting! My little trick is to cut greenery from my backyard for the centerpiece and light a lot of candles. It makes for a chic and classic look.

What about the perfect wine pairings for New Year’s Eve?

There is just something about a red that goes with anything during all through the holidays to New Years. I do switch it up depending on the season. Chardonnay is refreshing in the summer paired with a nice fish dish. I love me some salmon and veggies.

What projects do you have coming up in the new year?

As usual, I have so much coming up! I am really excited about 2022, as I think we all are. This past year I started my production company, Something Happy Productions. We are working on so many exciting projects from unscripted series to scripted TV & Film. 2022 is going to be a big year for us.

Any cool ideas to give as hostess presents?

I am all about a gift that can be customized. It puts such a nice personal touch on it. Mark & Graham’s Wood And Marble Rectangle Cheese Board is my go to right now. You can customize it for the host and you already know they like to entertain, so you know they’ll love a nice serving platter. If you’re looking for a last-minute gift, a bottle of wine always does the trick!

What’s the most over-the-top thing you’ve pulled off as a hostess?

When I’m hosting, I’m all about a theme—whether if it’s for a dinner party with my girlfriends or a birthday party for my kids. My favorite party I threw was for my daughter Scarlett’s 6th birthday. My house transformed into an actual Fairy Wonderland, complete with fairy dust, sparkles, and confetti cake. I’m all about the little details. Next: 10 Tried-and-Tested Food Traditions for Good Luck in the New Year

Molly Sims  New Year s Eve Entertaining Tips - 63Molly Sims  New Year s Eve Entertaining Tips - 95Molly Sims  New Year s Eve Entertaining Tips - 71