“It’s funny, growing up I never had many men in my life, still don’t really,” Pring wrote in a 2018 post, in which she paid tribute to her mother Emily, aunt Sarah and grandmother Vivian. “I was raised by these strong fearless independent women. And I’m really proud to say their influence has shaped me into the woman I am today. The obstacles these women have overcome, the accomplishments and goals they’ve achieved remind me that I really am capable of ANYTHING.” Pring, who identifies as half Latina, described herself in an essay for Redbook as one of the few children in her upstate New York hometown who “had a single mother with no father in the picture,” as well as one of “probably less than six children of color in my school.” The curvy model (she prefers that term to “plus-size”) writes about the awkwardness she felt in her body growing up until she began to play basketball, when her strength and size became assets. Her newfound confidence led her to begin a modeling career at the age of 15. “I feel powerful with my size,” Pring wrote. “I know all of the amazing things I am capable of.” Those things include modeling a swimsuit in 19-degree weather during an early morning photoshoot in Barbados for SI’s latest issue. Pring says that shooting on the beach (her two previous SI swimsuit shoots took place in the country) brought out a new side of her as a model. “When I was on the beach, this person came out and surprised me,” she told Sports Illustrated. “(Editor) MJ (Day) and I were going through some of the shots, and she said, ‘Who is this girl?’ I said, ‘I don’t know her yet. I’m still meeting her and figuring her out.” In addition to appearing in the new issue, Pring hosted a mini travel show, taking the camera on a tour of food destinations around the island. “It gave me the first taste of what hosting a TV show could be like because that is my dream,” the model said. “I want a show where I can travel the world and teach people about different cultures, food and women-run businesses.” Just another reason for her family to be proud! Next, meet the oldest woman to appear in the Sports Illustrated Swimsuit issue!

SI Swimsuit Model Marquita Pring Parents  Influence on Her Life - 30