Thanking someone for a gift only takes a few minutes and goes a long way in making the recipient feel special in return. Taking the time to write a personalized sentiment in a note or card shows your gratefulness for the present or service that you received and is a heartfelt way to show how much you appreciated the kind gesture. Your note doesn’t have to be fancy or long, and sending your message by handwritten note, text message, or email are all perfectly fine ways to acknowledge the generosity you received. But sometimes, it is difficult to think of something to write beyond a simple “thank you.” To help you out, we have put together over 50 examples of what to write in a thank you card that cover different occasions to inspire your thank-you writing, from how to thank a teacher during COVID, to how to thank a neighbor for their kindness.

50+ Thank You Messages To Write in a Thank-You Card

These simple messages of thanks are short and sweet, perfect examples to send in a note or a handwritten card to show your gratitude to someone for their thoughtfulness.

  1. Your generosity warmed my heart. I can’t thank you enough.
  2. You made my day! Thank you so much!
  3. How did you know this was exactly what I needed? Thank you, thank you, thank you.
  4. Your love and support mean more than you will ever know. Thank you for the encouragement.
  5. Saying “thank you” doesn’t seem like enough, but it’s a start!
  6. You’re the best! Thank you from the bottom of my heart.
  7. Words are not enough to express my thanks.
  8. Your thoughtfulness means so much to mean. Thank you.
  9. Thank you for taking the time to think of me. I appreciate it very much.
  10. You shouldn’t have — but thank you. I am speechless.
  11. Thanks for everything. I owe you one!

Thank You Messages for a Gift

When writing a thank you note for a gift, think about what the gift was, how it fits your needs, and what you plan to do with it. Include these thoughtful examples in the thank you card for a personal touch! 12. You always know how to select the perfect gift! The vase is so beautiful and will look lovely on my dining room table. 13. I appreciate all the thought you put into selecting the fabulous earrings you got me. They are beautiful and I know I will be wearing them often! 14. The bouquet of flowers you sent me is stunning and brightens up my living room! 15. I can’t believe you got me those concert tickets! You know how much I love that band! I am so excited to see them play live. Thank you. 16. Thank you for the pretty shirt. And it’s my favorite color! You know me so well. 17. The purse you got me is so cool. I immediately put all my things in it and am using it already! 18. You always pick out the best gifts. I don’t know how you do it! 19, Thank you for the birthday present. I am touched that you remembered and so grateful for the generous gift. 20. Did you have any idea that I needed new hiking boots? I can wait to hit the local trails this weekend. Thank you! 21. The yummy fruit basket made my day. It was so nice of you to think of us and send it.

Thank You Messages For a Life Event

When someone sends you a gift in celebration of a milestone like an engagement, a child’s birth, or graduation, one of the best way to share your gratitude is by mentioning the gift and how you will be using it. Try one of these thank you examples. 22. Thank you for being a part of our special day and celebrating our wedding with us. We truly appreciate your generous gift. The candlesticks will look lovely on our fireplace mantel. 23. The outfit that you got for the baby is so stinking cute, and he’s going to look so handsome in it. I will be sure to send you a picture when he wears it. Thank you for thinking of him! 24. I have the best colleagues! Thank you, everyone, for chipping in and getting us the stroller system for the baby. 25. I am ready for college thanks to the awesome messenger bag you gave me as a graduation gift. I really appreciate your generosity. 26. It was so sweet of you to send the lovely picture frame to us. I already placed our engagement photo in it!

Thank You Messages for Money or a Gift Card

Whether you have received a monetary gift yourself or an offering was given to a charitable event on your behalf, it is still proper etiquette to send a note of thanks. Try one of these thank you examples.  27. The gift card you got me for my birthday is a perfect size! I can’t wait to go shopping! 28. You know I love my coffee! I will put this gift card to good use each morning! 29. I have been saving up for a PlayStation 5, and the gift card you gave me has put me one step closer. Thanks so much! 30lmIt was so thoughtful of you to send a gift and very generous. I will be putting it away for a rainy day! Your kindness is greatly appreciated. 31. There are so many new books coming out this summer that I want to read, and now I don’t have to feel guilty about buying them! Thank you so much for the thoughtful gift and for supporting my reading addiction. 32. Thank you for the generous donation in my mom’s memory. It meant so much to us that you honored her life in this way, especially since she is no longer with us. 33. Your support of our fundraiser means so much. Thank you for your contribution.

Thank You Note to Teachers during COVID

Teachers are overworked and underpaid—and that has never been truer than during this global pandemic where the school year was anything but traditional. Sending your child’s teacher a note of thanks acknowledging all that they’ve done to help your son or daughter is a meaningful gesture that will be greatly appreciated! 34. Your kindness and inspiration did not go unnoticed this year, especially during these unprecedented times. Thank you for being so patient with your students. 35. This school year has been full of ups and downs, but you have remained a constant in your students’ lives. Thank you so much for all that you’ve done! 36. My son is not the same child who entered your classroom at the start of this year. He has grown so much, and that is mostly due to you. Thank you! 37. Not all superheroes wear capes! You are a super teacher, and our kids benefitted from your superpowers this year! 38. You have had such a positive impact on the lives of your students. We are so glad that you were our daughter’s teacher. 39. My son tells me all the time how much fun he had in your class this year. So thank you for being such a role model and encouraging his learning! 40. Thank you for creating such a fun and encouraging environment. I know that this school year was especially difficult due to the pandemic, and you went above and beyond to make this year as normal as possible for my son!

Thank You Messages for an Act of Kindness

Anytime that someone lends a helping hand moving furniture, walking your dog, or housesitting—or offers assistance during a difficult or busy time in your life—acknowledge their kindness with a note of thanks. 41. You have no idea how much your help has meant to us. Thank you so much for the extra hands. 42. Thank you for mowing our lawn while John was in the hospital. It has been one less thing I need to worry about and so greatly appreciated! 43. This has been one of the most trying times in our life, and your kindness means so much. 44. You were a dog-walking rock star while we were out of town. You took such good care of our Buddy and we are so grateful that you were there to help. 45. I don’t even know how to begin to repay you for all that you’ve done. But saying thank you is a small start. 46. You went above and beyond in helping us move, and we are so grateful for your help. 47. Thanks to you, our freezer is full of dinners that we just need to heat up while I recover from surgery. We are touched by your kindness and won’t go hungry!

Thank You Messages for Hospitality

When someone hosts a party in your honor or welcomes you into you their home as a house guest, it is a nice touch to thank them with a personal note. Try using one of these thank you examples.  48. Thank you for hosting my baby shower. I was so touched that you opened your home for me on this special day. 49. Staying at your beautiful home was so much better than staying at a hotel during the conference. Thanks for making me feel so welcomed. 50. Thank you for hosting another great family reunion. We made so many memories to hold us over until the next gathering. 51. We had so much fun this weekend at your house. The weather was perfect for a pool party, and we were so happy that you invited us over to spend the day. 52. What a treat! Dinner was delicious, and I can’t thank you enough for treating me to such a feast. Next, read about… Ways To Show Someone You Appreciate ThemThe Best Messages To Write In A Graduation CardThings To Write In A Father’s Day Card

Thank You Messages  What to Write in a Card or Note - 31Thank You Messages  What to Write in a Card or Note - 17Thank You Messages  What to Write in a Card or Note - 19Thank You Messages  What to Write in a Card or Note - 79Thank You Messages  What to Write in a Card or Note - 11Thank You Messages  What to Write in a Card or Note - 77