Several of the characters commented on it, including Ducky (David McCallum), who came to visit Gibbs at his home, but it was the conversation that Gibbs had with Torres (Wilmer Valderrama) that really said it all. As Torres drove Gibbs to the airport to catch his flight to Alaska, the conversation went like this: Torres: Just for the record, I always knew how you were going to get that boat out of the basement. Gibbs: I didn’t know it was a question. Torres: Burning for years. I knew about you and that damn boat before I transferred to D.C. Gibbs: How the hell else was I going to get that thing out? Torres: Trust me, that’s what I said, but the theories I heard were nuts. I am talking about moveable walls, pulley systems, because your house has a coal tunnel underneath, I guess you could possibly have turned the boat… If Gibbs should ever return—and it is possible he will, according to NCIS show runner/executive producer Steven D. Binder,  maybe he will find it in him to build another boat, but for now, he is done, according to something he told McGee (Sean Muray) at the end of the episode. “I’m thinking, I don’t have another boat left to build,” he said. But he did Gibbs leave at peace, saying, “Whatever I’m feeling, this sense of peace, I have not had this since Shannon and Kelly died, and I’m not ready to let it go.” As for a possible return, Binder said, “As an executive producer and dear friend, Mark continues to be an integral part of the fabric of the show. Our north star has always been staying true to our characters, and that truth has always guided the stories we tell and where those characters go. So, regarding the future of Gibbs, as long-time fans of the show may have noticed over the years…never count Leroy Jethro Gibbs out.” NCIS airs Monday nights at 9 p.m. ET/PT on CBS. Next, Where’s Gibbs? Everything We Know So Far About NCIS Season 19

The Real Answer to How Gibbs Got the Boat Out of His Basement   2021  - 84The Real Answer to How Gibbs Got the Boat Out of His Basement   2021  - 60