And the only reason it wasn’t a four-chair turn, according to Blake Shelton, is because of a promise Shelton made to Cam Anthony earlier this season. “I didn’t hit my button for one reason,” Shelton said. “I made a promise to an artist that if they would pick me, I would keep the lane clear for them and, for once, I am going to stick with my word.” “2021 is bringing us all sorts of surprises,” John responded, joking, but he would appreciate it in the end because Deion ended up on his team. The 28-year-old probation officer from Conway, N.C., took a big risk for his Blind Audition, singing “Shallow,” made famous by Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper in A Star Is Born. “My parents own a restaurant in North Carolina,” Nick told Deion. “I was picturing myself driving, listening to your voice as if it was on the radio. I am thinking, ‘I have to know who this is. And if the opportunity presents itself, I have to be their coach on The Voice.’ I believe in you and I think we can take this thing to the end of the competition, all the way to the finale. I felt really emotionally connected. I think everyone who watched that performance felt what you were singing.” Then John got in his pitch, and said, “I loved the song choice because whenever an artist covers a song choice that’s different than what they come with, and then makes it their own, it takes skill to pull that off, it takes musicianship, it takes artistry, and you showed us all of that. I love your low voice. It was rich; it was nuanced. Every line was delivered with power and essence and you don’t need a lot of coaching from us. I would love to help you through this journey.” And, finally, Kelly tried to convince Deion that her team was the right team. “I loved when I turned around and it was a little different than I was expecting,” she said. “I’ve heard a lot of singers cover it, and I think they are doing it to show off their range instead of doing it for the reason the song was probably written, meaning the message behind it. It felt like you were the perfect vessel for the message in the moment. That is my favorite kind of singer and I think that’s why Nick said he thinks he can get you to the finale, because I do think you can get to the finale. Pick – I don’t know – someone who’s won a vocal competition.” In the end, Deion chose John as his coach. “What I love most about Deion is the passion he sings with, the energy he sings with, and that true deep appreciation for soul that you can tell is infused in everything he does musically,” John added. Next, The Voice Turns 10! Blake Shelton and Carson Daly Give a Rare Behind-the-Scenes Peek of Season 20 Deion is a preacher’s son, his dad is the pastor of two churches, and taught his son that whatever dream you have, don’t be afraid to go and chase it. So, that is what Deion is doing. “I want to be the positive change,” says Deion, who appreciates that church is one of the things that kept him from getting into any serious trouble. “I am absolutely proud of myself, especially with the high-stress job that I have.” That stress is from the almost 5 years that Deion has served as a probation officer. He says, “What I love most about being a probation officer is that some of my offenders come and thank me and let me know of all the accomplishments they’ve made, how I’ve helped them, and how I’ve motivated them to reach their goals. That is something I thoroughly enjoy. I want to be a beacon of light in someone else’s darkness.” The Voice airs Monday nights at 8 p.m. ET/PT and Tuesdays at 9 p.m. ET/PT on NBC. Next, Everything You Need to Know About The Voice 10th Anniversary

Watch Deion Warren Sing Shallow for His Blind Audition for The Voice Season 20  2021  - 76